PAC Meeting, 25-27 October 2022

FACET-II PAC Meeting, 25-27 October 2022

FACET-II is a National User Facility at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory that provides the Department of Energy with unique capabilities to develop advanced acceleration and coherent radiation techniques with high-energy electron and positron beams. FACET-II is built on the decades-long experience developed conducting advanced accelerator R&D at the FFTB and FACET and redeploys HEP infrastructure in continued service of its mission. FACET-II provides a major upgrade over the capabilities we enjoyed at FACET.

This meeting will include review of the third cycle of proposals by the FACET-II Program Advisory Committee (PAC) October 25-27, 2022. The PAC will be chaired by Edda Gschwendtner from CERN and is asked to:

1. Evaluate the merit and the feasibility of new and updated proposals
2. Evaluate the progress made by experiments that received beam time in FY22.
3. Assess plans and priorities for the upcoming experimental operations in FY23

The full charge is posted here.

Guidelines for new and updated proposals:

To receive full consideration we ask that new and updated proposals be submitted by Friday September 16, 2022. As you develop your proposal, we encourage you to coordinate with us to ensure the best match between your requests and current or future capabilities at FACET-II. Recommendations from the PAC will be used to guide priorities for run time scheduling, as well as for developing and introducing facility improvement plans.

Details of the proposal process including a proposal template may be found here:

We are looking forward to working with you on this important and exciting science program. Please feel free to forward this email to colleagues you feel may be interested.

Principal Investigators for already reviewed experiments may be asked to present at the PAC. In this case, the PI will be contacted directly by the end of August and guidance for the presentation will be given.


PAC committee:

Eric Esarey (LBNL)
Cristina Vaccarezza (INFN)
Daniel Gordon (NRL);
Edda Gschwendtner (Chair, CERN)
Zhirong Huang (SLAC)
Andreas Maier (DESY)
Vladimir Shiltsev (FNAL)